{Chronique} The Upside of Unrequited de Becky Albertalli

Titre : The Upside of Unrequited
Auteur : Becky Albertalli
Edition : Penguin Teen
Pages : 337

Résumé

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Avis

J’ai pu découvrir l’écriture de cette auteure grâce à ce contemporain qui est juste rafraîchissant.

“I don’t entirely understand how anyone gets a boyfriend. Or a girlfriend. It just seems like the most impossible odds. You have to have a crush on the exact right person at the exact right moment. And they have to like you back. A perfect alignment of feelings and circumstances. It’s almost unfathomable that it happens as often as it does.”

Je suis contente d’avoir enfin pu lire mon premier Becky Albertalli, et je suis impressionnée par sa plume qui est plus que charmante. Elle m’a fait rentrer dans son univers avec son personnage complexer. J’avais acheté ce roman pendant mon voyage à Londres suite à l’avis de mon amie Clara. Je peux le dire que je ne suis pas déçue de l’avoir acheté et cela m’a donné fortement envie de lire Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Le roman en lui même est quelques choses de simple, on suit une jeune fille Molly qui est dans l’insécurité et qui complexe sur son physique. On parle de l’amitié et des liens entre les deux soeurs jumelle, mais aussi ce que cela leurs apportes et les changements dans leurs quotidiens. Ce roman montre que tout le monde peut avoir sa part de bonheur.

“Because I have to admit: there’s something really badass about truly, honestly not caring what people think about you.”

On suit donc Molly qui a eut pleins de crush dans sa vie et qui veut avoir enfin un petit copain comme sa soeur. L’histoire se passe alors entre découverte des sentiments et de la vie.

“There’s just something terrifying about admitting you like someone. In a way, it’s actually easier when there’s no chance of anything happening. But there’s this threshold where things suddenly become possible. And then your cards are on the table. And there you are, wanting, right out in the open.”

Molly est un personnage un peu réservé. Elle se sent pas forcément à sa place avec sa soeur jumelle qui est totalement son contraire. C’est un personnage attachant, qu’on a envie de de prendre dans ses bras et de chouchouter.

Cassy est la soeur jumelle extravertit, qui n’a pas peur de s’engager ou rentrer dans les débats. Elle est affirmé et sait ce qu’elle veut. Elle exprime différement ses sentiments comparé à Molly.

Reid est un garçon réservé, geek. Un peu gauche comme on dirait mais il a ce truc qui fait son charme. Je suis tombée amoureuse de sa gentillesse et de ses mots simple mais réconfortant.

“I’m on the toilet at the 9:30 Club and I’m wondering how mermaids pee.”

Les parents de Molly et Cassy. J’ai adoré cette ouverture d’esprit que l’auteure nous fait. Elle nous parle de la séxualité : héto, gay, bi sans prendre des pinces.

“It’s funny, because you always think the hard part is meeting someone the first time. It’s not. It’s the second time, because you’ve already used up all the obvious topics of conversation. And even if you haven’t, it’s strange and heavy-handed to introduce random conversational topics at this stage in the game. Hi, Reid. Let’s converse about topics. HOW MANY SIBLINGS DO YOU HAVE? WHAT BOOKS DO YOU LIKE?”

En bref, j’ai trouvé ce roman touchant et vrai. Une jeune fille qui apprend sur elle même et se fait confiance au fur et à mesure des pages. Je suis pas déçue et je pense continuer à lire des romans de cette auteure.

“Even if he likes me, I’m not sure he’d like me naked. I hate that I’m even thinking that. I hate hating my body. Actually, I don’t even hate my body. I just worry everyone else might. Because chubby girls don’t get boyfriends, and they definitely don’t have sex. Not in movies—not really—unless it’s supposed to be a joke. And I don’t want to be a joke.”

4/5

“I don’t feel like doing anything. I don’t even know what I need right now. I just want to feel normal.”

 

11 commentaires sur “{Chronique} The Upside of Unrequited de Becky Albertalli

  1. Je n’ai pas encore lu The Upside of Unrequited mais j’ai lu Simon vs the Homo sapiens agenda il y a deux semaines et j’ai adoré la plume de cet auteure. Je te le conseille aussi 🙂

    Aimé par 1 personne

Laisser un commentaire